If you have a DUI on your criminal record, the state of Alabama doesn't allow you to expunge it, so keep in mind it will be there the rest of your life.
In Alabama, the maximum jail time for a DUI conviction is 1 year, though there's no minimum for the first conviction.
Fines and Fees
In this state, there is a $500 - $2,000 fine for the first conviction, plus an additional $100 fine assessed for Impaired Drivers Trust Fund, and it goes up after that.
Ignition Interlock Devices
If your blood alcohol level is .15% or higher, you could have an ignition interlock device installed on every vehicle registered to you. This device has a breathalyzer installed so you can't start the car while under the influence.
Most people who get a DUI charge have their license suspended, and these suspensions are longer if you have prior charges. You must also attend DUI school before you can legally drive again. A DUI criminal defense attorney in Daphne, AL can talk you through this process.